Spokes / November 2008 UK Tour

By on Wednesday, 1st October 2008 at 5:31 pm
 

We all know that I have a love for a lot of shoegazy stuff at the moment, with stuff like Kyte, Sigur Ros and Trespassers William having all perked up my ears in recent times.

Now there’s a new one to add to the list – Manchester’s Spokes, a fivesome who make one hell of a beautiful noise that draws from the likes of Sigur Ros, Broken Social Scene and Arcade Fire – all amazing bands in their own right.

“The emotional intensity and waves of melody heard in their songs sound like they come as naturally to the band as breathing.” (Drowned In Sound)

“Spokes were next and could well be my new favourite band. This 5-piece had me absorbed from the second they stepped on stage to the second they finished. With all the vigour and natural emotion of say, a temperate Broken Social Scene, their poignant waves of unassuming melody and up-tempo variation was captivating.” (Narc Magazine)

They’re off on a pretty sizeable tour in November, stopping off at some of the murkier venues in our country, but none the less if they’re playing at a venue near you be sure to stop off and take in their beautiful music – tickets for the below dates are on sale now from the local venues. So why not download the free MP3 below, and then pop out to see them to warm up a November evening?

MP3: Spokes – Young People All Together

Thursday 6th November – Darlington Forum
Friday 7th November – Halifax Royal Oak
Saturday 8th November – Newcastle Arts Centre – Basement Theatre
Sunday 9th November – Glasgow Captain’s Rest
Monday 10th November – Dundee The Doghouse
Tuesday 11th November – Aberdeen The Tunnels (with Volcano!)
Wednesday 12th November – Leeds The Library
Friday 14th November – Sheffield The Casbah
Saturday 15th November – Leicester Sumo
Monday 17th november – London The Big Chill House
Tuesday 18th November – Lampeter University of Wales
Wednesday 19th November – Preston Mad Ferret
Thursday 20th November – Manchester Night & Day
Saturday 22nd November – Barrow Canteen (with Mogwai DJ Set)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave Your Response

* Name, Email, Comment are Required
 
 
 

About Us

There Goes The Fear is where we tell you about the latest music, gigs, and tours we love and think you should too.

We love music that has its heart on its sleeve, tells a story, swims around our head all day or makes us dance like no-one's watching.

TGTF was edited by Mary Chang, based in Washington, DC.

All MP3s are posted with the permission of the artists or their representatives and are for sampling only. Like the music? Buy it.

RSS Feed   RSS Feed  

Learn More About Us

Privacy Policy

Keep TGTF online for years to come!
Donate here.