Video of the Day #44: Telegraphs

By on Monday, 20th April 2009 at 6:00 pm

Hotly-tipped by Kerrang! and Rock Sound, and with tours lined up alongside Innerpartysystem and In Case Of Fire, Telegraphs certainly know what makes a good tune. Their single ‘We Dance In Slow Motion’ is out on 18th May, with their album, ‘We Were Ghosts, following on 25th May.

“We Were Ghosts” was recorded in in Snowdonia with producer Dave Eringa (who’s worked with the likes of Manic Street Preachers, Idlewild, Kylie Minogue). Led by frontman Darcy Harrison and fiery redhead bassist Hattie Williams, their smouldering lyrical content is apparently made all the more poignant by the fact that these songs were written and recorded in the dwindling days of their relationship.

Still the closest of friends, Darcy and Hattie realised, once it was complete, that the album subconsciously documented the dramatic changes to their lives. There were changes happening within the band as well; together with guitarist Darren LeWarne and willowy drummer Sam Bacon, they are joined by new guitarist Aung Yay (whose name is pronounced ‘Gary’ – as a child of Burmese descent growing up in the UK, he was given the choice to pick a western name for himself). Breaking into a derelict Victorian mental asylum for a photo shoot, the band scuttled through the gloomy sprawling wards full of abandoned padded cells.

Watch and enjoy, and watch out for the dude in the tighty whities.


Tags: , , ,

Leave Your Response

* Name, Email, Comment are Required

About Us

There Goes The Fear is where we tell you about the latest music, gigs, and tours we love and think you should too.

We love music that has its heart on its sleeve, tells a story, swims around our head all day or makes us dance like no-one's watching.

TGTF was edited by Mary Chang, based in Washington, DC.

All MP3s are posted with the permission of the artists or their representatives and are for sampling only. Like the music? Buy it.

RSS Feed   RSS Feed  

Learn More About Us

Privacy Policy

Keep TGTF online! Donate here.